Kershaw, Mattingly ejected after Parra gets hit
Emotions stir night after D-backs outfielder watches homer
LOS ANGELES -- Dodgers starter Clayton Kershaw and manager Don Mattingly were ejected from Wednesday's 3-2 win over the D-backs after Kershaw hit Arizona left fielder Gerardo Parra in the arm with a fastball leading off the sixth inning.
The ejection came one night after Parra had hit a home run off reliever Hong-Chih Kuo and paused to admire it too long for Kershaw's liking. The Dodgers' ace shouted at Parra from the top step of the dugout as Parra crossed home plate and turned around to yell back.
Home-plate umpire Bill Welke hadn't issued a warning to either team on Wednesday, but both teams received phone calls from Major League Baseball before the game saying they were being watched.
Welke wasted no time, tossing Kershaw just as Parra was leaving the batter's box. Mattingly, who sprinted from the top step of the dugout to argue, was thrown out soon after with a chorus of boos resounding through a lively Dodger Stadium.
Mattingly, whose call came from former Dodgers manager Joe Torre, said he didn't think it constituted a warning, but D-backs starter Daniel Hudson said a warning is exactly what he was given before the game.
The two benches were warned following Tuesday's incident, and crew chief Tim Tschida said the hit-by pitch was a carryover from Tuesday night. He added he was sure it was intentional and said there doesn't need to be a warning for an ejection.
But Kershaw, who for the most part refused to talk about the ejection -- the second of his career -- disagreed.
"The first at-bat I threw him all away and he hit a double," Kershaw said. "The next at-bat I've got to pitch him in. It's unfortunate ... I understand they have a job to do, but at the same time just pay attention to the game and understand what's going on."
After the game, Parra said he wasn't upset with Kershaw. He said he was expecting to possibly be hit, but only because he's "ready for everything."
"That's baseball," Parra said. "The umpire made his decision and that was it."
The D-backs were on the fence as to whether Kershaw's pitch was intentional. Catcher Miguel Montero said he was certain it was a purpose pitch, but Hudson said, "The pitch got away from Clayton."
In the Dodgers camp there was no doubt that Kershaw had no intent behind the pitch, which was certainly inside, but it only hit Parra on the arm near the elbow, which he had tucked in toward his body.
"It's frustrating that just because of last night you're not allowed to pitch inside," Mattingly said.
But Tschida wasn't having any of Mattingly's view that Kershaw was simply working the inside corner.
"It's always that view," he said.
Kershaw's only other blemish came in an uneventful at-bat in the third inning, when Parra took him opposite field for a double. Aside from the two Parra at-bats, Kershaw retired all 15 men he faced and had only thrown 63 pitches when he got the boot.
Despite his shortest outing since April 16, Kershaw picked up the win and tied Arizona's Ian Kennedy for the National League lead with 19 this season. Kershaw spoke mostly in praise of his bullpen after the game for throwing four strong innings in relief.
The most vocal D-backs player about the plunking was Montero, who called it "a stupid move."
"We were expecting it," Montero said. "Especially after the first at-bat when Parra got a hit. It was no surprise at all. The umpire didn't even hesitate, he threw him out of the game. It was a stupid move by him. I thought he was better. He was the one who was talking yesterday, so, I don't know, we'll see him next time."
Mattingly said he doesn't expect any repercussions or suspensions for the hit batter. Assuming no suspension is issued, Kershaw is scheduled to pitch twice more -- Tuesday against San Francisco and Sept. 25 at San Diego. The Dodgers finish the season Sept. 26-28 in Arizona.
AJ Cassavell is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.