Pedroia nearly has Fisk moment, but drive ruled foul
Red Sox star denied three-run shot off Tigers' Scherzer as review upholds call
BOSTON -- The replay review confirmed what the Fenway Park crowd had feared: Dustin Pedroia's Carlton Fisk moment wasn't to be.
In the third inning of Saturday's Game 6 in the American League Championship Series, Pedroia smashed a towering shot to left, well over the Green Monster and everything behind it. If it was a home run, it would've scored three off Tigers starter Max Scherzer, who winced at the ball's flight path.
As Pedroia slowly made his way toward first base trying to will the ball fair, it instead sailed just wide of the foul pole, appearing to miss it by mere inches. The play was reviewed and the foul ball ruling held up.
In anticlimactic fashion, Pedroia then grounded into a double play to end the inning.