© 2009 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

07/07/09 6:54 PM ET

Dodgers' Kemp seeks Final Vote boost

Outfielder says family, friends helping to spread word

NEW YORK -- Matt Kemp saw that Pablo Sandoval, the leading vote-getter so far in the 2009 All-Star Game Sprint Final Vote for a spot on the National League team, slugged a grand slam Monday night for the Giants while the Dodgers were traveling.

"Nothing I can do about that," said Kemp, who would be the fourth Dodger to make this year's team, joining Chad Billingsley, Jonathan Broxton and Orlando Hudson, who were named on Sunday.

Nor, said Kemp, is there anything he can do about the fact that the Dodgers are on the road during the four days of voting.

"That might hurt a little bit," he said of the scheduling. "That's just how it is. So if it doesn't happen, it's not meant to be."

But he said his family is doing all it can to boost his candidacy.

"All my family and friends are voting for me," he said. "We're trying. A lot of friends have called and said they're voting."

He just smiled when asked if NBA free-agent Trevor Ariza, who played for the Lakers the past two seasons, was one of them.

"Most Lakers fans are Dodgers fans," he said. "At least I hope they are. They should be. And the Angels and Dodgers are working together for me and Chone [Figgins], so we both have two cities voting for us. That's kind of smart."

After two days of voting, Sandoval held a narrow lead over the Phillies' Shane Victorino, the D-backs' Mark Reynolds and Kemp. They are followed by Cristian Guzman of the Washington Nationals.

Now in its eighth year, the 2009 All-Star Game Sprint Final Vote gives baseball fans around the world the opportunity to select the final player on each All-Star team. Balloting began on MLB.com immediately following Sunday's Major League All-Star Selection Show presented by Pepsi and continues until 1 p.m. PT on Thursday. The winners will be announced on MLB.com shortly thereafter.

Mobile voting in the U.S. is exclusive to Sprint, Nextel and Boost subscribers. To receive the 2009 All-Star Game Sprint Final Vote mobile ballot text the word "VOTE" to 1122. To vote for a specific player, simply text message your choice to 1122. EXAMPLE: Text "A3" to vote for AL Player 3 or "N3" to vote for NL Player 3. Standard rate messaging fees also may apply; check with your carrier. Mobile voting in Canada is open to all carriers; fans should text their choices to 88555.

The fun doesn't end there, however. Fans, having already decided the starters and final player on each team, once again will have the opportunity to participate in the official voting for the Ted Williams Most Valuable Player presented by Chevy via the 2009 All-Star Game Sprint MVP Vote on MLB.com during the All-Star Game.

The 80th Major League Baseball All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX Sports, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and Sportsnet HD and televised around the world by Major League Baseball International, with pregame ceremonies beginning at 5 p.m. ESPN Radio will provide exclusive national radio coverage, while MLB.com will provide extensive online coverage. XM will provide satellite radio play-by-play coverage of the XM All-Star Futures Game.

Ken Gurnick is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.