© 2012 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

01/09/12 3:00 PM EST

Dodgers name Bobblehead Series finalists

LOS ANGELES -- The Dodger Stadium Greats Bobblehead Series is an understatement.

The Dodgers on Monday announced the final three bobbleheads in the 10-game series -- Hall of Fame broadcaster Vin Scully, World Series hero Kirk Gibson and first-base fixture Eric Karros.

Those are now added to the tributes already announced for Hall of Famers Sandy Koufax, Don Drysdale, Tom Lasorda and Walt Alston, as well as the bobblequad for the record-setting infield of Steve Garvey, Davey Lopes, Bill Russell and Ron Cey. Legendary lefty Fernando Valenzuela will be honored with his fourth bobblehead, a club record.

Scully and Koufax will be first-time bobbleheads, along with Karros, Lopes, Russell, Maury Wills, Orel Hershiser and Mike Scioscia. Two of the tributes will be bobbletwins -- Wills/Drysdale and Lasorda/Alston.

The Dodgers are using the series to commemorate the 50th anniversary of Dodger Stadium by honoring those responsible for some of the ballpark's greatest moments. It starts off with the April 28 bobbletwin of Wills and Drysdale, who respectively won the MVP (Wills stole 104 bases) and Cy Young (Drysdale won 25 games) Awards in 1962, the opening year of Dodger Stadium.

In addition to honoring the two Dodgers' managers, the club will salute current opposing managers -- Scioscia of the Angels and Gibson of the D-backs -- for their accomplishments as Dodgers. Gibson is an MVP winner defined as a Dodger by his 1988 World Series walk-off homer, while Scioscia played for title teams in 1981 and '88 and holds the all-time franchise record for games caught.

The series encompasses five Hall of Famers, four MVP Awards, six Cy Young Awards, two Rookies of the Year and 26 world championships.

The series represents the most bobbleheads ever given out by the Dodgers in one season -- 10, honoring 15 legends. The full promotional schedule is available at dodgers.com/promotions.

The best way for fans to collect the entire Dodger Stadium Greats Bobblehead Series, secure Opening Day and all other 2012 promotions is with season tickets starting at $5 and as low as $16 on the Field level. The collectible series is also included in a 10-game Mini Plan. Several 15-game Mini Plans are available that include Opening Day and two bobblehead games from the Dodger Stadium Greats Bobblehead Series. The 25-game Pick 'Em Mini Plan is another option in securing all bobbleheads and Opening Day. Mini Plan pricing starts at $8 per seat. Information on season-ticket options including Mini Plans is available now at dodgers.com/tickets.

Here are the dates, opposing teams and names of the bobbleheads:

Dodger Stadium Greats Bobblehead Series
Date Opponent Featured player
Saturday, April 28 Nationals Maury Wills with Don Drysdale
Tuesday, May 15 Diamondbacks Orel Hershiser
Tuesday, May 29 Brewers The Infield: Steve Garvey, Davey Lopes, Bill Russell and Ron Cey
Tuesday, June 12 Angels Mike Scioscia
Thursday, June 28 Mets Eric Karros
Saturday, July 14 Padres Tommy Lasorda with Walter Alston
Tuesday, July 31 D-backs Kirk Gibson

Ken Gurnick is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.