© 2014 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

6/19/2014 4:30 A.M. ET

Did you know? Kershaw's no-hitter

Facts and figures in the wake of Clayton Kershaw's no-hitter on Wednesday night against the Rockies at Dodger Stadium.

Clayton Kershaw
Kershaw makes history

Is this the most strikeouts in a no-hitter and/or in a no-hit, no-walk game?

It's not the most strikeouts recorded in a no-hitter. That record is held by Nolan Ryan, who fanned 17 batters in a no-no for the Angels and against the Tigers on July 15, 1973. Kershaw's 15-strikeout performance tied for third with Warren Spahn and Don Wilson. Ryan had 16 K's in a no-no on May 1, 1991.

Kershaw's does, however, qualify as the most strikeouts in a no-hitter with no walks. Next on that list are Sandy Koufax's perfect game on Sept. 9, 1965, and Matt Cain's perfecto on June 13, 2012. Both struck out 14.

Is this the most strikeouts in a no-hitter by a left-handed pitcher?

It's tied with Spahn's on Sept. 16, 1960. Koufax's 14-K perfecto ranks third.

Did Kershaw's no-hitter receive the highest Game Score in history?

According to Game Score, a metric created by baseball statistic guru Bill James to rank how effective a pitcher was in a game, Kershaw's 102 was the best ranking a no-hitter has produced and the second-best pitching performance of any kind, trailing only Kerry Wood's 20-strikeout, one-hit, no-walk game in 1998, which earned a Game Score of 105.

The next-best Game Scores for no-hitters were 101, achieved by Cain's perfecto in 2012, Ryan's no-no in 1991 and Koufax's perfect game in 1965, and 100, earned by Randy Johnson in his perfect game in 2004, Ryan's no-no in July 1973 and Spahn's no-no in 1960.

How many teams have had two no-hitters in a season?

On Wednesday night, the Dodgers became the 17th team in Major League Baseball history to throw two no-hitters in one season. Here's a complete list:

• Los Angeles Dodgers in 2014: Josh Beckett and Kershaw
• Philadelphia Phillies in 2010: Roy Halladay twice (once in postseason)
• California Angels in 1973: Ryan twice
• Chicago Cubs in 1972: Burt Hooton and Milt Pappas
• Boston Red Sox in 1962: Earl Wilson and Bill Monbouquette
• Milwaukee Braves in 1960: Lew Burdette and Spahn
• Brooklyn Dodgers in 1956: Carl Erskine and Sal Maglie
• Detroit Tigers in 1952: Virgil Trucks twice
• New York Yankees in 1951: Allie Reynolds twice
• Cincinnati Reds in 1938: Johnny Vander Meer twice (four days apart)
• St. Louis Browns in 1917: Ernie Koob and Bob Groom (consecutive days)
• Boston Red Sox in 1916: Rube Foster and Dutch Leonard
• Cleveland Naps in 1908: Bob Rhoads and Addie Joss
• Boston Americans in 1904: Cy Young and Jesse Tannehill
• Philadelphia Athletics in 1888: Ed Seward and Gus Weyhing (five days apart)
• Columbus Buckeyes in 1884: Ed Morris and Frank Mountain
• Louisville Colonels in 1882: Tony Mullane and Guy Hecker

How many times have Dodgers thrown no-hitters?

Twenty-two overall, and 12 since the team moved to Los Angeles. Counting their time in Brooklyn, the Dodgers have the most no-hitters of any team in MLB history.

Is this the shortest time between no-hitters for a team in a single season?

No. Twenty-four days (between Beckett's no-no for the Dodgers against the Phillies on May 25 and Kershaw's) is impressive, but it doesn't come close.

The 1917 St. Louis Cardinals threw no-hitters by Koob and Groom on consecutive days, though it wasn't in back-to-back games as Groom's was in the second game of a doubleheader. Vander Meer of the 1938 Cincinnati Reds threw no-hitters in consecutive starts, separated by a mere four days, and Seward and Weyhing of the 1888 Philadelphia A's spun no-no's within five days of one another.

How many teams with two no-hitters in a season have gone on to win the World Series?

Just two: The 1916 Boston Red Sox and 1951 New York Yankees. The 1956 Dodgers went to the Series but lost to the Yankees in seven games.

Where does Kershaw rank among the youngest pitchers to throw a no-hitter?

At 26 years of age, he doesn't even crack the top five.

How many no-hitters have taken place at Dodger Stadium, and where does that rank among ballparks?

Not counting combined no-hitters, Dodger Stadium has hosted 11 individual no-no's, which ranks second of all the ballparks to Fenway Park's 13. The old Yankee Stadium checks in third with 10.

How many Texans have thrown no-hitters?

Ten pitchers, including Dallas native Kershaw, born in the Lone Star State have twirled no-no's, and since Ryan (seven) and Homer Bailey (two) accounted for nine of them, there are 17 total no-hitters among the Texans. Here they are:

• Charlie Robertson, April 30, 1922 (perfect game)
• Tex Carleton, April 30, 1940
• Joe Horlen, Sept. 10, 1967
• Burt Hooton, April 16, 1972
• Ryan: May 15 and July 15, 1973; Sept. 28, 1974; June 1, 1975; Sept. 26, 1981; June 11, 1990; May 1, 1991
• Clay Buchholz, Sept. 1, 2007
• Philip Humber, April 21, 2012 (perfect game)
• Bailey, Sept. 28, 2012; July 2, 2013
• Beckett, May 25, 2014
• Kershaw, June 18, 2014

Who was the last pitcher (before Kershaw) to throw a no-hitter in Dodger Stadium?

Ramon Martinez for the Dodgers against the Florida Marlins on July 14, 1995.

How many no-hitters has Dodgers broadcaster Vin Scully called?

Kershaw's was No. 19, believe it or not.

How many no-hitters have there been that would have been perfect games except for an error?

The last time it happened before Wednesday night, Jonathan Sanchez of the Giants pitched a no-hitter and didn't walk a batter on July 10, 2009, against the Padres, but Juan Uribe made an error at third base in the eighth inning.

Other no-hitters with no walks but one error happened to Terry Mulholland of the Phillies against the Giants on Aug. 15, 1990; Jerry Reuss of the Dodgers against the Giants on June 27, 1980; Dick Bosman of the Indians on July 19, 1974, against the A's; rookie Bill McCahan of the Philadelphia A's against the Washington Senators on Sept. 3, 1947; and Walter Johnson for the Senator against the Red Sox on July 1, 1920.

Horlen in 1967 and Bob Forsch in 1983 also threw no-hitters with no walks and one error, but they each hit a batter.

Christy Mathewson's no-hitter on June 13, 1905, included two errors.

How many reigning Cy Young winners have thrown a no-hitter?

Kershaw was only the third. The others were Koufax in 1964 and Bob Gibson in 1971.

How many no-hitters have been thrown on the same day that Bartolo Colon hit a double?

Just this one.

Doug Miller is a reporter for MLB.com. Follow him on Twitter @DougMillerMLB. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.