© 2014 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

6/19/2014 11:15 A.M. ET

Dodgers just might own season's only no-nos

Boston Americans only club in big league history to throw only two no-hitters

The Dodgers have a chance for an interesting slice of no-hitter history.

Los Angeles has thrown the first two no-hitters of the season, with both Josh Beckett and Clayton Kershaw completing their bids for history. And if there are no more no-hitters thrown this season, the Dodgers would join the 1904 Boston Americans as the only teams in an exclusive club.

Clayton Kershaw
Kershaw makes history

The 1904 Americans -- who would later be known as the Red Sox -- are the only team in baseball history to throw the only two no-hitters in a season. The first no-no of that season was a perfect game thrown by Hall of Famer Cy Young, one of three career no-hitters fired by the game's winningest pitcher.

Young held the Philadelphia Athletics without a baserunner in a 3-0 win on May 5,1904, and his only no-hit company that year came from a teammate. Jesse Tannehill threw a no-hitter in a 6-0 win over the Chicago White Sox on Aug. 17, and the Americans would go on to lose in the World Series.

A few other teams have threatened to match that feat, but it hasn't been done since.

Johnny Vander Meer of the Cincinnati Reds threw the first two no-hitters of the 1938 season -- the only incident in big league history in which a pitcher has thrown no-hitters in consecutive starts -- but there was a third no-hitter thrown that year, a gem thrown by Monte Pearson of the New York Yankees.

There were also three no-hitters thrown in 1960, but the first was thrown by Don Cardwell of the Cubs. The next two were both thrown by members of the Milwaukee Braves. Lew Burdette threw a no-hitter on Aug. 18, and Warren Spahn threw one on Sept. 16.

Spahn would go on to throw the Majors' next no-hitter -- on April 28, 1961 -- giving the Milwaukee Braves three consecutive no-hitters. That accomplishment has never been matched.

The 1972 campaign also featured three no-hitters, and one team accounted for two of them. The Cubs threw the first two, with Burt Hooton and Milt Pappas doing the honors. Then, in the last week of the season, Bill Stoneman of the Expos joined their exclusive club by no-hitting the Mets.

Two teams in the last decade have fired two consecutive no-hitters.

Boston managed the trick in 2007 and '08, when Clay Buchholz threw the final no-hitter of one season and Jon Lester bookended him with the first no-no of the next campaign. Buchholz threw his gem on Sept. 1, 2007, and Lester dominated the Royals on May 19, 2008.

More recently, one man managed to go back-to-back by himself. Cincinnati's Homer Bailey threw the final no-hitter of the 2012 season against the Pirates, and nine months later -- on July 2, 2013 -- he no-hit the San Francisco Giants in a 3-0 victory to make history again.

Spencer Fordin is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.